Gateway’s success at MUN continues to grow

Monday, 14th of October 2019

The delegation of Gateway College once again showed a great display of talent at the 12th session of SLMUN 2019, held on the 5th and 6th of October. The delegates received numerous top awards this year too giving testament to their dedication and diplomacy. In the World Health Assembly, Adheesha Kumarasinghe acquired a double award, gaining both Best Delegate and Best Working Paper. Andrew Surendran received Honorary Mention, whilst Thinula Karuranratne received a Higher Commendation award in the same committee. Shaheen Abdul Gani was bestowed with a double award - Best Delegate and Best Working Paper in the Third General Assembly, whilst Anshul Raj, Aaryan Perera and Yasindu Athauda received Higher Commendation, Honorary Mention and Honorary Mention respectively, in the same committee.

In the Commission on the Status of Women, Imaad Muwahid was awarded Honorary Mention and Shanelle Perera attained the Higher Commendation award. Farhan Naushad was presented a double award - Higher Commendation and Best Working Paper in the UNODC while Randesh Wickrama also secured a double award of both the Best Delegate and best Working Paper. Themiya Gurusinghe was awarded an Honorary Mention in the First General Assembly, and Tiranya Ranasighe achieved the Best News Agency Award in the International Press Corps. With a total of 17 awards including that of the prestigious Best Delegation award, Gateway continues its dominance in the MUN arena.