23rd Award Ceremony of the Australian National Chemistry Quiz for the year 2019 a huge success

Monday, 27th of January 2020 Views - 3570

The 23rd award ceremony of the Australian National Chemistry Quiz for the year 2019 hosted by the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon was held on the 20th of January 2020 at ‘Adamantane House”, Rajagiriya. Australian High Commissioner for Sri Lanka His Excellency David Holly graced the occasion as the chief guest. Prof. P. Paranagama, President of Institute of Chemistry Ceylon and Prof. S. Ekanayake, Dean of College of Chemical Sciences were among the dignitaries. Amidst 154 award winners, 9 students from the senior section who obtained full marks for the competition, received full scholarships from the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon to follow the Graduateship in Chemistry Programme at College of Chemical Sciences in the year 2021.

Junior Division, T. Chandrakumar from S.Thomas’ College Mt.Lavinia and Senior Division, L.R. M. Rauff from S. Thomas’ College Mt.Lavinia, N. Rajapaksha from Dharmaraja College Kandy, M. Madurandika and S. Sathmina from Royal College Colombo, S.N. Jayaweera from Taxila Madya Maha Vidyalaya Horana, H. Malwattage from Sujatha Balika Vidyalaya Matara, A. Samarawickrama from SanghamittaBalikaVidyalaya Galle, M.A. Jayasundara and T. Perera from Ferguson High School Ratnapura were awarded with plaques and certificates of excellence. Dr. C.N. Ratnaweera, Senior lecturer College of Chemical Sciences delivered a presentation on “Chemistry Olympiad and Critical Problem-Solving in Chemistry” and the vote of thanks was delivered by Ms. Nishmitha Ramraj. The award ceremony ended on a high note with an exceptionally captivating Magic Show, organized by the CCS Magic Club.

Dilendra Wijesekara
Master of the ceremony